Does My Motherboard Actually Support ECC Memory?
| Platform | ECC | Memory | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| AMD AM5 (Ryzen 7000 and 9000) Desktop | Yes, but errors are not reported | DDR5 ECC UDIMM (unbuffered) | The memory controller supports ECC on unbuffered DDR5 ECC modules, but whether it is enabled and whether corrected errors are reported depends entirely on the board vendor's firmware. ASRock and ASUS expose it on several boards; many consumer boards do not. Treat reporting as absent unless your specific board documents it. Source |
| AMD AM4 (Ryzen 3000 and 5000) Desktop | Yes, but errors are not reported | DDR4 ECC UDIMM (unbuffered) | Same picture as AM5: the controller handles ECC UDIMMs, board firmware decides. Ryzen Pro parts and workstation boards are the ones that report reliably. APUs with integrated graphics are frequently the exception and drop ECC entirely. Source |
| AMD Threadripper and Threadripper Pro Workstation | Yes, with error reporting | DDR5 ECC RDIMM | Registered ECC is the intended configuration and errors are reported. Threadripper Pro requires RDIMMs; non-Pro Threadripper boards vary, so check the board's memory list. Source |
| AMD EPYC Server | Yes, with error reporting | DDR4 or DDR5 ECC RDIMM | Registered ECC throughout, with full reporting. Unbuffered modules are not the supported configuration. Source |
| Intel W680 chipset Workstation | Yes, with error reporting | DDR5 ECC UDIMM | W680 is the consumer-socket chipset that enables ECC properly with a supporting CPU, including error reporting. This is the route to ECC on a desktop Core processor; the consumer Z and B chipsets do not offer it. Source |
| Intel Z790 and Z890 (consumer) Desktop | No | Non-ECC DDR5 | Consumer Intel chipsets do not enable ECC. An ECC UDIMM may physically boot in some boards, but ECC is inactive: you get the module's capacity and none of its protection. Source |
| Intel Xeon W Workstation | Yes, with error reporting | DDR5 ECC RDIMM | ECC with reporting is standard across the Xeon W line. Current generations expect registered modules. Source |
| Intel Xeon Scalable Server | Yes, with error reporting | DDR5 ECC RDIMM | Registered ECC throughout with full reporting, and the platform where population rules (channels and DIMMs per channel) matter most for speed. Source |
| Intel N100 and N150 Desktop | No | Non-ECC DDR4 or DDR5 | The low-power N-series does not support ECC. This matters because these chips are popular in small NAS builds where people assume ECC is available. Source |
| UGREEN DXP2800 NAS appliance | No | DDR5 SO-DIMM (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official. Memory vendors certify 32 GB modules for the platform; UGREEN does not endorse that. Anything above 32 GB is unrealistic on the N100. |
| UGREEN DXP4800 Plus NAS appliance | No | DDR5 SO-DIMM (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 64 GB per the manufacturer |
| UGREEN DXP4800 NAS appliance | No | DDR5 SO-DIMM (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official (the N100 platform limit). 32 GB modules are certified by memory vendors but not endorsed by UGREEN. |
| UGREEN DXP6800 Pro NAS appliance | No | DDR5 SO-DIMM 4800 (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 64 GB per the manufacturer |
| UGREEN DH4300 Plus NAS appliance | No | LPDDR4X, soldered | This model does not use ECC memory. Soldered, not upgradeable |
| UGREEN DH2300 NAS appliance | No | LPDDR4X, soldered | This model does not use ECC memory. Soldered, not upgradeable |
| Synology DS925+ NAS appliance | Yes, with error reporting | DDR4 ECC SO-DIMM (2 slots) | Ships with ECC memory. 32 GB official, ECC |
| Synology DS923+ NAS appliance | Yes, with error reporting | DDR4 ECC SO-DIMM (2 slots) | Ships with ECC memory. 32 GB official (2 × 16 GB ECC). In practice 64 GB (2 × 32 GB ECC SO-DIMM) also runs; Synology does not endorse it. |
| Synology DS423+ NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (2 GB soldered plus 1 slot) | This model does not use ECC memory. 6 GB official (2 GB fixed plus a 4 GB module). In practice a 16 GB module runs (giving 18 GB); Synology does not endorse it. |
| Synology DS224+ NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (2 GB soldered plus 1 slot) | This model does not use ECC memory. 6 GB official (2 GB fixed plus a 4 GB module). Larger modules run in practice but are not endorsed. |
| Synology DS1525+ NAS appliance | Yes, with error reporting | DDR4 ECC SO-DIMM (2 slots) | Ships with ECC memory. 32 GB official, ECC |
| Synology BeeStation NAS appliance | No | DDR4, soldered | This model does not use ECC memory. Soldered, not upgradeable |
| QNAP TS-464 NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official. 32 GB runs per forum reports but is not endorsed by QNAP. |
| QNAP TS-264 NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official; 32 GB is reported in forums but not endorsed. |
| QNAP TS-233 NAS appliance | No | 2 GB, soldered | This model does not use ECC memory. Soldered, not upgradeable |
| TerraMaster F4-425 NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (1 slot) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official |
| TerraMaster F2-425 NAS appliance | No | DDR4 SO-DIMM, no ECC (1 slot) | This model does not use ECC memory. 16 GB official |
| Minisforum N5 Pro NAS appliance | No | DDR5 SO-DIMM 5600, ECC supported (2 slots) | This model does not use ECC memory. 96 GB per Minisforum's product page and configurator (one Canadian comparison table says 128 GB). Sold as 16 GB, 48 GB or 96 GB; only the 96 GB configuration (2 × 48 GB) is known to be dual channel. |
| UGREEN iDX6011 Pro NAS appliance | No | LPDDR5X, soldered | This model does not use ECC memory. Soldered to the board. UGREEN's spec table lists no expansion ("Expandable RAM (Max) -"). |
Three answers, not two. "Yes, with error reporting" means the platform corrects errors and tells the operating system it did. "Yes, but errors are not reported" means corrections happen silently, so you get the protection without the warning that a module is failing. On AM5 and AM4 the difference is decided by board firmware, not by the CPU, which is why the same processor can give either answer.
Whether a platform supports ECC memory has three answers, not two: it may correct errors and report them, correct them silently, or not use ECC at all. AM5 and AM4 sit in the middle case, where board firmware rather than the processor decides. Every row here carries its source.
The formula
full ECC active AND corrected errors reported to the operating system
silent ECC active, no reporting: you get correction without the warning
none ECC inactive, even if an ECC module boots
module type must also match: UDIMM for desktop, RDIMM for most serversWorked examples
| Case | Inputs | Working | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Workstation | Intel W680 with a supporting Core CPU | chipset enables ECC and reporting | Yes, with error reporting |
| Desktop | AMD AM5, consumer board | controller supports it, firmware decides | Yes, but errors are not reported |
| Consumer Intel | Intel Z790 | chipset does not enable ECC | No |
Three answers, not two
The question "does this board support ECC" has three possible answers, and conflating them is why this topic is so badly served elsewhere. A platform may correct errors and report them to the operating system; it may correct them silently; or it may not use ECC at all even if an ECC module physically boots.
The middle case is the one that catches people. A board where ECC works but nothing is reported gives you the correction without the warning. Single-bit errors never reach your data, which is the main benefit, but a module degrading badly enough to throw constant corrections looks exactly like a healthy one right up until it fails outright. If the reason you wanted ECC was early warning of a failing module, silent ECC does not deliver it.
Why AMD and Intel differ
On AMD's consumer sockets the memory controller supports ECC on unbuffered modules, but whether it is enabled and whether errors are reported is left to the board vendor's firmware. That is why the same processor can give different answers on two boards with the same chipset, and why forum reports conflict so often. The board's manual and its qualified vendor list are the deciding sources.
Intel draws the line at the chipset instead. Consumer chipsets do not enable ECC at all; the W680 workstation chipset does, with reporting, which is the route to ECC on a desktop Core processor. Xeon W and Xeon Scalable use registered modules with full reporting as standard.
Do you actually need it?
ECC is worth having on a machine holding data you care about, and it is not the prerequisite for ZFS that folklore suggests. The claim that ZFS without ECC is more dangerous than any other filesystem without ECC has been repeatedly rebutted by its developers. ECC protects memory contents regardless of filesystem; its absence is a reason to be careful, not a reason to avoid ZFS.
The cost is modest: ECC modules are typically rated a grade lower and add a small latency penalty in the low single digits of percent. On a file server that is irrelevant. On a machine built for frame rates it is the reason ECC kits are not the default.
Questions
My board boots an ECC module. Does that mean ECC is working?
Not necessarily. An ECC UDIMM will often boot in a board that ignores the extra chip, giving you the capacity and none of the protection. Unless the firmware or the operating system reports ECC as enabled, assume it is not.
What is the point of ECC that does not report errors?
Corrections still happen, so single-bit errors do not reach your data. What you lose is the warning: a module degrading badly enough to throw constant corrections looks exactly like a healthy one until it fails outright.
Do I need ECC for ZFS?
No, and the claim that ZFS without ECC is more dangerous than any other filesystem without ECC has been repeatedly rebutted by its developers. ECC is worth having on a machine holding data you care about; its absence is not a reason to avoid ZFS.
Does ECC make my system slower?
Marginally. ECC modules are typically rated a grade lower and add a small latency penalty, in the low single digits of percent. On a file server that is irrelevant; on a gaming machine it is the reason ECC kits are not the default.
Why does my Ryzen support ECC on one board but not another?
Because the processor's memory controller and the board's firmware are separate. AMD leaves ECC enablement to board makers on consumer sockets, so two boards with the same chipset and the same CPU can give different answers. The board's manual and QVL are the deciding sources.