Which 20 TB hard drive should you buy?
We hold datasheet specifications for 22 hard drives at 20 TB, across 7 families. The median tracked price is US$44.00 per terabyte, and the cheapest is X300 20 TB at US$37.50. 22 of them use conventional recording, which is the first thing to check for array use.
Key numbers
- 22Models we hold specs for at 20 TB
- US$44.00Median tracked US$/TB
- 22 of 22Use conventional recording
- 550 TB/yrHighest rated workload: ST20000NT001
- 5 yearsLongest warranty: WD201KFGX
Every 20 TB drive we hold specs for
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Cache | Workload | MTBF | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ST20000NT001IronWolf Pro | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | 550 TB/yr | 2,500,000 | not stated |
MG10ACA20TAMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10ACA20TAYMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10ACA20TEMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10ACA20TEYMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10ACP20TAMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10ACP20TEMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCA20TAMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCA20TAYMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCA20TEMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCA20TEYMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCP20TAMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
MG10SCP20TEMG | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
HDWG62AUZSVAN300 | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | 180 TB/yr | 1,200,000 | 3 yr |
ST20000VE002SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST20000VE003SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST20000VE004SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
WD202KRYZWD Gold | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 7200 MB | not stated | 2,500,000 | not stated |
WD203KRYZWD Gold | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 7200 MB | not stated | 2,500,000 | not stated |
WD201KFGXWD Red Pro | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | 550 TB/yr | 2,500,000 | 5 yr |
WD202KFGXWD Red Pro | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | 550 TB/yr | 2,500,000 | 5 yr |
HDWR62AUZSVAX300 | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
Current 20 TB prices on Amazon.com
New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. 7 of 8 tracked items have a current offer. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.
| Listing | Family | Capacity | Price | US$/TB | Condition | Checked | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
WD202KFGXWD Red Pro 20 TB | WD Red Pro | 20 TB | US$894.82 | US$44.74 | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| X300 20 TB | X300 | 20 TB | US$749.99 | US$37.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
ST20000NM002HExos X 20 TB | Exos X | 20 TB | US$829.99 | US$41.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
ST20000NT001IronWolf Pro 20 TB | IronWolf Pro | 20 TB | US$829.99 | US$41.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
ST20000VE003SkyHawk AI 20 TB | SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | US$879.99 | US$44.00 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| N300 20 TB | N300 | 20 TB | US$899.95 | US$45.00 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
WD203KRYZWD Gold 20 TB | WD Gold | 20 TB | US$953.99 | US$47.70 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| MG 20 TB | MG | 20 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.
What these specifications actually mean
At a single capacity the price differences between drives are small and the specification differences are not, which inverts how most people shop. Sorting by price per terabyte is the right first move only once you have filtered to the drives that suit the job, because the cheapest 20 TB drive and the most expensive one are frequently not substitutes at all.
The first filter is recording technology. 22 of these 22 use conventional recording, where tracks do not overlap and a rewrite costs no more than a first write. That is what an array needs: a rebuild reads and writes the entire drive, and a shingled drive can slow by an order of magnitude doing it. For a single backup target written once and read occasionally, shingled recording is free density and a reasonable buy.
The second is the rated workload, which is the figure most buyers skip and most warranty disputes turn on. The ST20000NT001 is rated highest here at 550 TB a year. It is a warranty envelope rather than a performance ceiling: the drive keeps working past it, but consistently exceeding it gives the maker grounds to decline a claim. A home NAS doing media and nightly backups rarely passes 20 TB a year; a multi-camera surveillance recorder passes it easily.
The third is warranty length, which is a reasonable proxy for how hard the maker expects the drive to be used. The WD201KFGX carries the longest cover at 5 years. Remember that the term runs from manufacture rather than purchase unless you register proof, which quietly costs several months on a drive that sat in a warehouse.
Only after those three does price per terabyte decide anything. At 20 TB the spread between the cheapest and dearest suitable drive is usually small enough that warranty and workload rating are worth more than the saving, and our cost per TB calculator will show you both the advertised and the usable figure for any specific pair.
What it suits, and what it does not
For a NAS or RAID array: take a conventional-recording drive with a stated workload rating. ST20000NT001, MG10ACA20TA, MG10ACA20TAY, MG10ACA20TE qualify here.
For a single backup or archive drive: the constraints relax considerably. Nothing is rebuilding, so shingled recording costs you little and the cheapest per terabyte is usually the right answer.
For surveillance: the workload rating is the deciding number, because cameras write continuously rather than in bursts. Prefer a drive rated at 180 TB a year or more, and size the array so no single drive carries the whole write load.
For a desktop: almost any of these will do, and 20 TB is likely more than a desktop needs. The better question is whether the data should be on spinning storage at all, which our flash versus hard drive comparison covers.
What to do with this
- Filter to conventional recording first if the drive is going into an array; check with our model number decoder.
- Check the rated workload against how hard you will actually drive it, not against how hard you imagine you will.
- Look up measured failure rates per model on our AFR table, reading the drive-days column before the rate.
- Sort the live table above by price per terabyte, but only among the drives that passed the first three filters.
- Compare 20 TB against the capacity above and below on our price per TB page; the per-terabyte advantage of larger drives widened through 2026.
- Register the warranty on arrival, since it runs from manufacture unless you file proof of purchase.
Questions
Which 20 TB hard drive is the most reliable?
Reliability is a property of a specific model rather than a capacity, and the honest source is measurement rather than rating. Our failure rate by model table carries annualized rates computed from Backblaze drive-days, with the sample size beside every figure so you can see which rates are meaningful. Where two models' confidence ranges overlap, the data cannot separate them and you should decide on warranty, workload rating and price instead.
Are all 20 TB drives CMR?
No, and the mix matters more than almost any other specification at this capacity. 22 of the 22 drives we hold specs for here use conventional recording. Shingled drives overlap tracks for density and pay on rewrite, which makes array rebuilds and sustained random writes very slow. For a single backup drive that is a fine trade; for RAID or ZFS it is not.
What workload rating do I need at 20 TB?
It depends entirely on the duty rather than the capacity. A home NAS running media and nightly backups rarely exceeds 20 TB of writes a year, so almost any NAS-rated drive is generous. A multi-camera surveillance recorder writing continuously, or a virtualisation host, will pass 180 TB a year without difficulty. Match the rating to the write pattern, and remember it is a warranty envelope rather than a performance limit.
Is a 20 TB drive better value than two smaller ones?
Usually on price per terabyte, and the advantage widened through 2026 because the shortage hit small consumer drives hardest. The counterweight is concentration: more data behind one spindle means a longer rebuild and a bigger loss if it fails. The right capacity is the one whose rebuild window you are comfortable sitting through with the array degraded, which for most home arrays still favours the larger drive.
Why do some specifications show as not stated?
Because the manufacturer datasheet does not state them, and we do not fill the gap from a sibling model. Datasheets routinely differ between capacities in exactly the fields that matter, so copying a value across would be inventing data that looks sourced. Every figure in the table above is traceable to the datasheet linked in the sources, and the blanks are blanks in that document.
Sources
- Seagate IronWolf Pro datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Toshiba MG datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Toshiba N300 datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Seagate SkyHawk AI datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Western Digital WD Gold datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Western Digital WD Red Pro datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Toshiba X300 datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Our methodology: how specifications are parsed and checked · read by us on October 15, 2026
Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.