Which 26 TB hard drive should you buy?

Portrait of Devin ChuaBy Devin Chua · Data checked by Owen Nakamura · Updated · Prices checked
In short

We hold datasheet specifications for 2 hard drives at 26 TB, across 2 families. The median tracked price is US$47.50 per terabyte, and the cheapest is WD Gold 26 TB at US$47.50. 2 of them use conventional recording, which is the first thing to check for array use.

Key numbers

  • 2Models we hold specs for at 26 TBOur spec database · Oct 15, 2026
  • US$47.50Median tracked US$/TBOur Amazon.com readings · Oct 15, 2026
  • 2 of 2Use conventional recordingDatasheets and model numbers · Oct 15, 2026
  • 550 TB/yrHighest rated workload: WD260KFGXDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026
  • 5 yearsLongest warranty: WD260KFGXDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026

Every 26 TB drive we hold specs for

Parsed from manufacturer datasheets. Fields a datasheet does not state are shown as not stated.
ModelCapacityRecordingRPMCacheWorkloadMTBFWarranty
WD261KRYZ
WD Gold
26 TBCMR7,2007200 MBnot stated2,500,000not stated
WD260KFGX
WD Red Pro
26 TBCMR7,200512 MB550 TB/yr2,500,0005 yr

Current 26 TB prices on Amazon.com

New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. 1 of 2 tracked items have a current offer. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.

ModelFamilyCapacityPriceUS$/TBConditionCheckedBuy
WD261KRYZ
WD Gold 26 TB
WD Gold26 TBUS$1,234.99US$47.50
third-party seller
newBuy on Amazon
WD260KFGX
WD Red Pro 26 TB
WD Red Pro26 TBno current Amazon.com offer
Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
  • WD Gold 26 TB · US$47.50 per TB · Same capacity, different line
–newnot yetnot listed

A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.

What these specifications actually mean

At a single capacity the price differences between drives are small and the specification differences are not, which inverts how most people shop. Sorting by price per terabyte is the right first move only once you have filtered to the drives that suit the job, because the cheapest 26 TB drive and the most expensive one are frequently not substitutes at all.

The first filter is recording technology. 2 of these 2 use conventional recording, where tracks do not overlap and a rewrite costs no more than a first write. That is what an array needs: a rebuild reads and writes the entire drive, and a shingled drive can slow by an order of magnitude doing it. For a single backup target written once and read occasionally, shingled recording is free density and a reasonable buy.

The second is the rated workload, which is the figure most buyers skip and most warranty disputes turn on. The WD260KFGX is rated highest here at 550 TB a year. It is a warranty envelope rather than a performance ceiling: the drive keeps working past it, but consistently exceeding it gives the maker grounds to decline a claim. A home NAS doing media and nightly backups rarely passes 20 TB a year; a multi-camera surveillance recorder passes it easily.

The third is warranty length, which is a reasonable proxy for how hard the maker expects the drive to be used. The WD260KFGX carries the longest cover at 5 years. Remember that the term runs from manufacture rather than purchase unless you register proof, which quietly costs several months on a drive that sat in a warehouse.

Only after those three does price per terabyte decide anything. At 26 TB the spread between the cheapest and dearest suitable drive is usually small enough that warranty and workload rating are worth more than the saving, and our cost per TB calculator will show you both the advertised and the usable figure for any specific pair.

What it suits, and what it does not

For a NAS or RAID array: take a conventional-recording drive with a stated workload rating. WD261KRYZ, WD260KFGX qualify here.

For a single backup or archive drive: the constraints relax considerably. Nothing is rebuilding, so shingled recording costs you little and the cheapest per terabyte is usually the right answer.

For surveillance: the workload rating is the deciding number, because cameras write continuously rather than in bursts. Prefer a drive rated at 180 TB a year or more, and size the array so no single drive carries the whole write load.

For a desktop: almost any of these will do, and 26 TB is likely more than a desktop needs. The better question is whether the data should be on spinning storage at all, which our flash versus hard drive comparison covers.

What to do with this

  1. Filter to conventional recording first if the drive is going into an array; check with our model number decoder.
  2. Check the rated workload against how hard you will actually drive it, not against how hard you imagine you will.
  3. Look up measured failure rates per model on our AFR table, reading the drive-days column before the rate.
  4. Sort the live table above by price per terabyte, but only among the drives that passed the first three filters.
  5. Compare 26 TB against the capacity above and below on our price per TB page; the per-terabyte advantage of larger drives widened through 2026.
  6. Register the warranty on arrival, since it runs from manufacture unless you file proof of purchase.

Questions

Which 26 TB hard drive is the most reliable?

Reliability is a property of a specific model rather than a capacity, and the honest source is measurement rather than rating. Our failure rate by model table carries annualized rates computed from Backblaze drive-days, with the sample size beside every figure so you can see which rates are meaningful. Where two models' confidence ranges overlap, the data cannot separate them and you should decide on warranty, workload rating and price instead.

Are all 26 TB drives CMR?

No, and the mix matters more than almost any other specification at this capacity. 2 of the 2 drives we hold specs for here use conventional recording. Shingled drives overlap tracks for density and pay on rewrite, which makes array rebuilds and sustained random writes very slow. For a single backup drive that is a fine trade; for RAID or ZFS it is not.

What workload rating do I need at 26 TB?

It depends entirely on the duty rather than the capacity. A home NAS running media and nightly backups rarely exceeds 20 TB of writes a year, so almost any NAS-rated drive is generous. A multi-camera surveillance recorder writing continuously, or a virtualisation host, will pass 180 TB a year without difficulty. Match the rating to the write pattern, and remember it is a warranty envelope rather than a performance limit.

Is a 26 TB drive better value than two smaller ones?

Usually on price per terabyte, and the advantage widened through 2026 because the shortage hit small consumer drives hardest. The counterweight is concentration: more data behind one spindle means a longer rebuild and a bigger loss if it fails. The right capacity is the one whose rebuild window you are comfortable sitting through with the array degraded, which for most home arrays still favours the larger drive.

Why do some specifications show as not stated?

Because the manufacturer datasheet does not state them, and we do not fill the gap from a sibling model. Datasheets routinely differ between capacities in exactly the fields that matter, so copying a value across would be inventing data that looks sourced. Every figure in the table above is traceable to the datasheet linked in the sources, and the blanks are blanks in that document.

Sources

Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.