Seagate SkyHawk AI: the whole line compared
We hold datasheet specifications for 12 Seagate SkyHawk AI models, from 8 to 32 TB. Warranty terms vary and a 550 TB/year workload rating. The median tracked price is US$47.31 per terabyte.
Key numbers
- 12Models we hold specs for
- 8 to 32 TBCapacity range
- 12 of 12Use conventional recording
- 550 TB/yrRated workload
- US$47.31Median tracked US$/TB
Every SkyHawk AI model we hold specs for
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Cache | Workload | MTBF | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ST8000VE001SkyHawk AI | 8 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST10000VE001SkyHawk AI | 10 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST12000VE001SkyHawk AI | 12 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST12000VE003SkyHawk AI | 12 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST16000VE002SkyHawk AI | 16 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST16000VE004SkyHawk AI | 16 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST16000VE005SkyHawk AI | 16 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST20000VE002SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST20000VE003SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST20000VE004SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST24000VE002SkyHawk AI | 24 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
ST32000VE000SkyHawk AI | 32 TB | CMR | not stated | not stated | 550 TB/yr | not stated | not stated |
Current SkyHawk AI prices on Amazon.com
New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. 4 of 7 tracked items have a current offer. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.
| Listing | Family | Capacity | Price | US$/TB | Condition | Checked | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ST20000VE003SkyHawk AI 20 TB | SkyHawk AI | 20 TB | US$879.99 | US$44.00 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
ST16000VE000SkyHawk AI 16 TB | SkyHawk AI | 16 TB | US$738.00 | US$46.13 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| SkyHawk AI 10 TB | SkyHawk AI | 10 TB | US$485.00 | US$48.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| SkyHawk AI 8 TB | SkyHawk AI | 8 TB | US$484.00 | US$60.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
ST12000VE003SkyHawk AI 12 TB | SkyHawk AI | 12 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| SkyHawk AI 18 TB | SkyHawk AI | 18 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| SkyHawk AI 24 TB | SkyHawk AI | 24 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.
What these specifications actually mean
A drive family is a promise about consistency: the maker is telling you that every model in the line is built for the same duty, so you can pick on capacity and expect the rest to follow. That promise is worth checking rather than assuming, which is what this table is for.
These datasheets do not consistently state warranty terms. The workload rating is likewise uniform at 550 TB a year.
Every model here uses conventional recording, which is what makes the line safe for arrays end to end: a rebuild reads and writes the whole drive, and shingled recording is what turns that from hours into days.
Spindle speeds are not consistently stated. 12 models are helium sealed, which lowers drag and therefore power draw and heat, and is what makes high platter counts practical at the top capacities.
What the family name cannot tell you is how any individual model actually fails in service. Reliability is a property of a model and its production run rather than of a brand or a line, which is why our measured failure rates are organised by model number. A family with a good reputation still ships models with poor rates.
What it suits, and what it does not
Choosing within this line: pick on capacity first, then confirm that the specific model carries the workload rating and recording technology you need. The table above makes the exceptions visible, and the exceptions are the whole reason to read it.
Choosing between lines: compare at a fixed capacity rather than in the abstract, because that is the decision you are actually making. Our capacity pages do exactly that, for example 16 TB.
Mixing models within an array: workable when capacity, recording technology and rotational speed match. Mixing a shingled drive into a conventional array is the case that bites, because the rebuild runs at the speed of the slowest member.
Buying the whole array at once: consider deliberately splitting across two production runs or two families. Drives bought together frequently come from one batch, and batch-correlated failures are exactly the scenario redundancy handles worst.
What to do with this
- Shortlist by capacity, then check this table for the exceptions within the line.
- Confirm recording technology on the exact model with our decoder before buying for an array.
- Check the measured failure rate by model on our AFR table, reading drive-days before the rate.
- Compare this line against others at your chosen capacity on the relevant price per TB page.
- Work out real cost with the cost per TB calculator, including usable capacity after formatting.
- Split a new array across two batches or families where you can, to avoid correlated failures.
Questions
Is every SkyHawk AI drive CMR?
Across the 12 models we hold datasheet specs for, yes. That consistency is what makes the line usable for arrays end to end, because a rebuild reads and writes the entire drive and shingled recording turns that from hours into days. Confirm the specific model anyway if you are buying outside the capacities listed here.
What workload is the SkyHawk AI line rated for?
550 TB of writes a year, uniformly across the models we hold specs for. That is a warranty envelope rather than a performance ceiling: the drive keeps working past it, but consistently exceeding it gives the maker grounds to decline a claim. A home NAS doing media and nightly backups rarely passes 20 TB a year.
How long is the SkyHawk AI warranty?
These datasheets do not consistently state a warranty term. Check the maker's own warranty lookup against the serial number, which is the only authoritative answer for a specific drive.
Can I mix SkyHawk AI models in one array?
Generally yes, where capacity, recording technology and rotational speed match. The case that causes trouble is mixing a shingled drive into a conventional array, because a rebuild runs at the speed of its slowest member and shingled rewrite performance collapses under that load. Mixing capacities works but wastes the difference on most RAID levels.
Why are some models missing from this page?
Because we only list models whose manufacturer datasheet we have parsed. A family page with a title and an empty table is worse than no page, so the line here is the part of the family we can source rather than the complete catalogue. We add models as we parse their datasheets, and every figure shown traces to the document linked in the sources.
Sources
- Seagate SkyHawk AI datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Our methodology: how specifications are parsed and checked · read by us on October 15, 2026
Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.