MG10SCA18TAY: full specifications and current price

Portrait of Devin ChuaBy Devin Chua · Data checked by Owen Nakamura · Updated
In short

The MG10SCA18TAY is an 18 TB Toshiba MG drive, using conventional recording, rated for 550 TB of writes a year. Every figure below is parsed from the manufacturer datasheet, and anything the datasheet does not state is marked as such.

Key numbers

Datasheet specifications

Parsed from the manufacturer datasheet. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated.
SpecificationValue
Capacity18 TB
FamilyToshiba MG
Recording technologyCMR
InterfaceSATA
Form factornot stated
Spindle speed7,200 rpm
Cachenot stated
Helium sealedYes
Rated workload550 TB/year
Rated MTBFnot stated
Warrantynot stated
Sustained transfernot stated

Current prices on Amazon.com

New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. None of these targets has a current offer yet; each row shows the item we track and will price. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.

ListingFamilyCapacityPriceUS$/TBConditionCheckedBuy
MG 18 TBMG18 TBno current Amazon.com offer–newnot yetnot listed

A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.

What these specifications actually mean

The two specifications that decide whether this drive belongs in an array are the recording technology and the rated workload, and they are worth taking in that order. The MG10SCA18TAY uses conventional recording, which means tracks do not overlap and a rewrite costs no more than a first write. That is what makes it safe for RAID and ZFS: a rebuild reads and writes the whole drive, and a shingled drive can slow by an order of magnitude doing it.

The 550 TB per year workload rating is the figure most buyers skip and most warranty disputes turn on. It is not a performance limit: the drive will keep working past it. It is the envelope the manufacturer warrants, and exceeding it consistently is grounds for a claim to be declined. For context, a home NAS streaming media and taking nightly backups rarely passes 20 TB a year, so this rating is generous for that use and genuinely binding for a busy surveillance recorder or a virtualisation host.

This datasheet does not state an MTBF. Where one is published, our MTBF to AFR calculator does that conversion and explains why the headline number reads as more reassuring than it is. Backblaze does not run this model in sufficient numbers to publish a measured rate, so the rating is the only figure available.

Cache size matters less than its size suggests. It buffers bursts and helps with reordering, but once a sustained transfer exceeds it the drive runs at platter speed. Treat it as a tiebreaker between otherwise equal drives rather than a headline feature. The sealed helium design matters more: lower aerodynamic drag means lower power draw and less heat, which is what makes high platter counts practical at all.

What it suits, and what it does not

In a NAS or RAID array: suitable. Conventional recording and a 550 TB/year rating are the two things an array actually needs from a drive, and this has them.

As a single desktop or backup drive: fine in almost every case. The constraints that rule drives out of arrays, mostly rebuild behaviour, do not apply when nothing is rebuilding. A shingled drive used as a backup target that is written once and read occasionally is working exactly where its density advantage is free.

In a surveillance recorder: the workload rating is the deciding figure, because a camera array writes continuously rather than in bursts. This rating is comfortable for that duty.

What the specifications cannot tell you is how this drive behaves in your enclosure. Vibration from neighbouring drives, airflow and power quality do more damage than the difference between two well-rated models, and none of it appears on a datasheet. Our measured failure rates come closer, because they are observations rather than ratings.

What to do with this

  1. Confirm the recording technology before buying for an array. Our model number decoder reads it from the part number and says plainly when it cannot.
  2. Check the measured failure rate for this model, not the brand, on our AFR table, and read the drive-days column before trusting any rate.
  3. Compare against the rest of the line on our MG page, which covers 23 other models.
  4. Compare against every other drive at this size on our 18 TB page, which ranks by price per terabyte.
  5. Work out the real cost with our cost per TB calculator, which also shows the usable capacity your operating system will report.
  6. Register the warranty as soon as it arrives. It runs from manufacture, not purchase, unless you file proof: our warranty check covers each maker's process.

Questions

Is the MG10SCA18TAY CMR or SMR?

CMR. The manufacturer datasheet states it directly. Conventional recording means tracks do not overlap, so a rewrite costs no more than a first write and the drive is safe for RAID and ZFS rebuilds.

What workload is the MG10SCA18TAY rated for?

550 TB of writes per year, per the datasheet. That is a warranty envelope rather than a performance limit: the drive keeps working past it, but consistently exceeding it gives the manufacturer grounds to decline a claim. A home NAS doing media and nightly backups rarely passes 20 TB a year, so this is generous for that use and genuinely binding for continuous surveillance recording or a busy virtualisation host.

How reliable is the MG10SCA18TAY?

There is no measured rate for this exact model, because Backblaze does not run it in the numbers needed to publish one. Our failure rate table covers the models that do have measured data.

Does the MG10SCA18TAY work in my NAS?

Physically, almost certainly: it is a 3.5-inch SATA drive and every mainstream NAS takes those. The real questions are whether your vendor's compatibility list matters to you, whether the recording technology suits an array (this one is CMR), and whether the workload rating covers how hard you will drive it. Synology relaxed its drive lock for hard drives in DSM 7.3; other vendors publish lists that are advisory rather than enforced.

Why does this page show some fields as not stated?

Because the manufacturer datasheet does not state them, and we do not fill gaps from sibling models. Datasheets routinely differ between capacities in exactly the fields people care about, cache and acoustics and workload among them, so copying a value across would be inventing data that looks sourced. An unstated field is visible here as unstated; a wrong one would be invisible, and that is the worse failure.

Sources

Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.