Toshiba X300: the whole line compared
We hold datasheet specifications for 15 Toshiba X300 models, from 4 to 20 TB. All carry a 2 year warranty. The median tracked price is US$45.57 per terabyte.
Key numbers
- 15Models we hold specs for
- 4 to 20 TBCapacity range
- 9 of 15Use conventional recording
- US$45.57Median tracked US$/TB
Every X300 model we hold specs for
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Cache | Workload | MTBF | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
HDWR740EZSTAX300 | 4 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR740UZSVAX300 | 4 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR760EZSTAX300 | 6 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR760UZSVAX300 | 6 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR780EZSTAX300 | 8 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR780UZSVAX300 | 8 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR71AEZSTAX300 | 10 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR71AUZSVAX300 | 10 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR51CEZSTAX300 | 12 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR51CUZSVAX300 | 12 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR51EEZSTAX300 | 14 TB | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
HDWR51EUZSVAX300 | 14 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR51GUZSVAX300 | 16 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR51JUZSVAX300 | 18 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
HDWR62AUZSVAX300 | 20 TB | CMR | 7,200 | 512 MB | not stated | 600,000 | 2 yr |
Current X300 prices on Amazon.com
New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. 2 of 10 tracked items have a current offer. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.
| Listing | Family | Capacity | Price | US$/TB | Condition | Checked | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| X300 20 TB | X300 | 20 TB | US$749.99 | US$37.50 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| X300 22 TB | X300 | 22 TB | US$1,179.99 | US$53.64 third-party seller | new | Buy on Amazon | |
| X300 10 TB | X300 | 10 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 12 TB | X300 | 12 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 14 TB | X300 | 14 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 16 TB | X300 | 16 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 18 TB | X300 | 18 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 4 TB | X300 | 4 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 6 TB | X300 | 6 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | not listed |
| X300 8 TB | X300 | 8 TB | no current Amazon.com offer Not stocked in either market. Closest we track:
| – | new | not yet | Buy on Amazon |
A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.
What these specifications actually mean
A drive family is a promise about consistency: the maker is telling you that every model in the line is built for the same duty, so you can pick on capacity and expect the rest to follow. That promise is worth checking rather than assuming, which is what this table is for.
Across the 15 X300 models here, the warranty is uniform at 2 years, which is the usual sign of a coherent line.
9 of the 15 models confirm conventional recording. The rest are unconfirmed in their datasheets, so check the specific model before putting it in an array rather than trusting the family name.
Spindle speed is uniform at 7,200 rpm.
What the family name cannot tell you is how any individual model actually fails in service. Reliability is a property of a model and its production run rather than of a brand or a line, which is why our measured failure rates are organised by model number. A family with a good reputation still ships models with poor rates.
What it suits, and what it does not
Choosing within this line: pick on capacity first, then confirm that the specific model carries the workload rating and recording technology you need. The table above makes the exceptions visible, and the exceptions are the whole reason to read it.
Choosing between lines: compare at a fixed capacity rather than in the abstract, because that is the decision you are actually making. Our capacity pages do exactly that, for example 10 TB.
Mixing models within an array: workable when capacity, recording technology and rotational speed match. Mixing a shingled drive into a conventional array is the case that bites, because the rebuild runs at the speed of the slowest member.
Buying the whole array at once: consider deliberately splitting across two production runs or two families. Drives bought together frequently come from one batch, and batch-correlated failures are exactly the scenario redundancy handles worst.
What to do with this
- Shortlist by capacity, then check this table for the exceptions within the line.
- Confirm recording technology on the exact model with our decoder before buying for an array.
- Check the measured failure rate by model on our AFR table, reading drive-days before the rate.
- Compare this line against others at your chosen capacity on the relevant price per TB page.
- Work out real cost with the cost per TB calculator, including usable capacity after formatting.
- Split a new array across two batches or families where you can, to avoid correlated failures.
Questions
Is every X300 drive CMR?
Not confirmed for every model. 9 of the 15 we hold specs for state or resolve to conventional recording; the rest are unstated in their datasheets and we do not infer from siblings. Check the exact model with our decoder before committing it to an array, because this is the specification that genuinely decides suitability.
What workload is the X300 line rated for?
These datasheets do not consistently state a workload rating. Where a maker omits it, read that as a signal the drive is not sold for continuous multi-drive duty rather than as permission to ignore the question.
How long is the X300 warranty?
2 years across the line. Note that the term runs from the date of manufacture rather than the date you bought it, unless you register proof of purchase with the maker, which can quietly cost several months on a drive that sat in a distributor's warehouse. Our warranty check page covers each maker's process.
Can I mix X300 models in one array?
Generally yes, where capacity, recording technology and rotational speed match. The case that causes trouble is mixing a shingled drive into a conventional array, because a rebuild runs at the speed of its slowest member and shingled rewrite performance collapses under that load. Mixing capacities works but wastes the difference on most RAID levels.
Why are some models missing from this page?
Because we only list models whose manufacturer datasheet we have parsed. A family page with a title and an empty table is worse than no page, so the line here is the part of the family we can source rather than the complete catalogue. We add models as we parse their datasheets, and every figure shown traces to the document linked in the sources.
Sources
- Toshiba X300 datasheet · the document these specifications are parsed from · read by us on October 15, 2026
- Our methodology: how specifications are parsed and checked · read by us on October 15, 2026
Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.