HDWR51CEZSTA: full specifications and current price

Portrait of Devin ChuaBy Devin Chua · Data checked by Owen Nakamura · Updated
In short

The HDWR51CEZSTA is a 12 TB Toshiba X300 drive. Every figure below is parsed from the manufacturer datasheet, and anything the datasheet does not state is marked as such.

Key numbers

  • 12 TBCapacityDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026
  • not statedRecording technologyDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026
  • not statedRated workloadDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026
  • not statedWarrantyDatasheet · Oct 15, 2026

Datasheet specifications

Parsed from the manufacturer datasheet. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated.
SpecificationValue
Capacity12 TB
FamilyToshiba X300
Recording technologynot stated
Interfacenot stated
Form factornot stated
Spindle speednot stated
Cachenot stated
Helium sealednot stated
Rated workloadnot stated
Rated MTBFnot stated
Warrantynot stated
Sustained transfernot stated

Current prices on Amazon.com

New-condition listings only, sorted by price per terabyte. None of these targets has a current offer yet; each row shows the item we track and will price. Where the listing states a model number we show it, because that is the part you can check against a datasheet. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars and we earn a commission on qualifying purchases.

ListingFamilyCapacityPriceUS$/TBConditionCheckedBuy
X300 12 TBX30012 TBno current Amazon.com offer–newnot yetnot listed

A row with no price is an item we track that has no current Amazon.com offer. We leave it in place rather than hiding it, so you can see the whole set we follow.

What these specifications actually mean

The two specifications that decide whether this drive belongs in an array are the recording technology and the rated workload, and they are worth taking in that order. This datasheet does not state the recording technology, and we will not infer it from a sibling model, so treat it as unknown until you can confirm it from the label or the maker.

This datasheet does not state a workload rating, which is common on consumer lines. Treat the absence as a sign the drive is not sold for continuous multi-drive duty rather than as permission to ignore the question.

This datasheet does not state an MTBF. Where one is published, our MTBF to AFR calculator does that conversion and explains why the headline number reads as more reassuring than it is. Backblaze does not run this model in sufficient numbers to publish a measured rate, so the rating is the only figure available.

Cache size matters less than its size suggests. It buffers bursts and helps with reordering, but once a sustained transfer exceeds it the drive runs at platter speed. Treat it as a tiebreaker between otherwise equal drives rather than a headline feature.

What it suits, and what it does not

In a NAS or RAID array: unconfirmed, because the recording technology is not stated. Confirm it before committing the drive to an array.

As a single desktop or backup drive: fine in almost every case. The constraints that rule drives out of arrays, mostly rebuild behaviour, do not apply when nothing is rebuilding. A shingled drive used as a backup target that is written once and read occasionally is working exactly where its density advantage is free.

In a surveillance recorder: the workload rating is the deciding figure, because a camera array writes continuously rather than in bursts. Without a stated rating, prefer a drive sold specifically for surveillance.

What the specifications cannot tell you is how this drive behaves in your enclosure. Vibration from neighbouring drives, airflow and power quality do more damage than the difference between two well-rated models, and none of it appears on a datasheet. Our measured failure rates come closer, because they are observations rather than ratings.

What to do with this

  1. Confirm the recording technology before buying for an array. Our model number decoder reads it from the part number and says plainly when it cannot.
  2. Check the measured failure rate for this model, not the brand, on our AFR table, and read the drive-days column before trusting any rate.
  3. Compare against the rest of the line on our X300 page, which covers 14 other models.
  4. Compare against every other drive at this size on our 12 TB page, which ranks by price per terabyte.
  5. Work out the real cost with our cost per TB calculator, which also shows the usable capacity your operating system will report.
  6. Register the warranty as soon as it arrives. It runs from manufacture, not purchase, unless you file proof: our warranty check covers each maker's process.

Questions

Is the HDWR51CEZSTA CMR or SMR?

The datasheet does not state it and the model number does not resolve it confidently, so we do not claim an answer. Check the drive label or the maker's own documentation before committing it to an array, because this is the one specification that genuinely decides suitability.

What workload is the HDWR51CEZSTA rated for?

This datasheet does not state a workload rating, which is normal for consumer lines sold for single-drive use. Read the absence as a signal that the drive is not sold for continuous multi-drive duty, rather than as permission to ignore the question. Drives sold for NAS and enterprise use publish the figure precisely because it matters there.

How reliable is the HDWR51CEZSTA?

There is no measured rate for this exact model, because Backblaze does not run it in the numbers needed to publish one. Our failure rate table covers the models that do have measured data.

Does the HDWR51CEZSTA work in my NAS?

Physically, almost certainly: it is a 3.5-inch SATA drive and every mainstream NAS takes those. The real questions are whether your vendor's compatibility list matters to you, whether the recording technology suits an array, and whether the workload rating covers how hard you will drive it. Synology relaxed its drive lock for hard drives in DSM 7.3; other vendors publish lists that are advisory rather than enforced.

Why does this page show some fields as not stated?

Because the manufacturer datasheet does not state them, and we do not fill gaps from sibling models. Datasheets routinely differ between capacities in exactly the fields people care about, cache and acoustics and workload among them, so copying a value across would be inventing data that looks sourced. An unstated field is visible here as unstated; a wrong one would be invisible, and that is the worse failure.

Sources

Specifications are parsed from the manufacturer datasheet linked above. A field the datasheet does not state is shown as not stated rather than inferred. Prices are read from Amazon.com in US dollars; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases, which never changes a recommendation or a table order. How we check these figures.